Skip to content. Skip to main navigation.

Advance & Awards



Cub Scout activities are centered around earning badges that are specific to each school grade level.  This badge represents a rank.  Advancement refers to the progress a Cub Scout makes toward their badge of rank.  As a Cub Scout advances through the ranks, the requirements get more challenging, to match the new skills and abilities they have learned.  All of the activities for each rank are in the Cub Scout handbooks.

Cub Scouts have the opportunity to earn both required and elective recognition devices as they work toward their ranks and can also earn recognition for additional elective adventures they choose to complete beyond those required for their rank


Cub Scouts in 1st – 5th grade must earn their Bobcat badge before they can advance to the rank of Tiger, Wolf, Bear, or Webelos Scout. Requirements include:

  • Learn and say the Cub Scout motto, the Scout Oath, and the Scout Law and tell what they mean;
  • Show the Cub Scout sign, salute, and handshake and tell what they mean; and
  • With your parent or guardian complete the exercises in the pamphlet How to Protect Your Children from Child Abuse: A Parent’s Guide.



Placement of rank badges, awards, adventure (belt) loops and Webelos pins.



Cub Scout advancement and award badges must be attached directly to the uniform.







Tigers through Bears adventure loops are worn on the Cub Scout’s belt.






Webelos pins are worn on an item called Webelos Colors on the right sleeve of the tan uniform shirt or they may be placed on the Webelos hat.




Scout Awards

There are several awards Cub Scouts can earn beyond their badge of rank. They can be earned individually or as Den.

Please visit the site for list of other awards.

© 2024 Shia Imami Ismaili Cub Scouts – Sugar Land, TX
© 2024 Shia Imami Ismaili Cub Scouts – Sugar Land, TX
Powered By WordPress
Powered By WordPress